Audio Mixing Platform (AMP)

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: iPad Control  (Read 17557 times)

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #30 on: August 03, 2015, 01:21:55 PM »

So are you able to capture data in both directions?  Try posting your xml file here that you are using, let me see if I can spot something that might be wrong.

Bob
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #31 on: August 03, 2015, 01:31:41 PM »

I've never used Modi-Ox but this is the window I am referring to and have it set to the midi ports in use.

Here's the code,

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Commands devicename="MIDIDesigner" supportedWDL="2">  <!-- 2 means channel strip view, default is channel slot window -->
   
<Command name="GATEONOFF" id="0xa0" absolute="true" echo="true">
 <Receive>
  <Callback>
   <Channel mask="10x1xxxx"></Channel>  <!-- B0 -->
   <Symbol mask="00000001"></Symbol>   <!-- 01 -->
   <Data mask="0xxxxxxx"></Data>  <!-- data byte -->
  </Callback>
 </Receive>
 <Send>
  <Message>
   <Channel mask="10x1xxxx"></Channel>  <!-- B0 -->
   <Symbol mask="00000001"></Symbol>   <!-- 01 -->
   <State on="00000001" off="00000000"></State>  <!-- data byte -->
  </Message>
 </Send>
</Command>
 
</Commands>

The entire file is just the one button...
« Last Edit: August 03, 2015, 01:33:29 PM by brettbrandon »
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #32 on: August 03, 2015, 01:39:28 PM »

If you have an iPad, there is a free version of Midi Designer that is limited to 12 controls.
I could send you an iPad template to use with it for testing...
Logged

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #33 on: August 03, 2015, 11:19:10 PM »

Hey Brett,

Actually, I think I have that iPad app, just never used it.

I think I see the issue..  Try changing the <Channel mask="10x1xxxx" ... to "1011xxxx" in the Send area.

Bob
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #34 on: August 04, 2015, 01:02:27 AM »

That did it, it now works in both directions.
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #35 on: August 05, 2015, 01:16:52 PM »

I finally figured out what all that stuff in the template is.
I have the Dynamics page fully communicating with AMP (except for the solo's).
I still have to create custom mapping for the controls so that they reflect the same value as the control in AMP (instead of just 0 to 127).
Logged

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #36 on: August 05, 2015, 01:53:09 PM »

Hey Brett,

That's great!  Can you switch active channels also, to go back and forth?  Not sure if we have those commands mapped, but I could request it if it is not there.

Bob
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #37 on: August 05, 2015, 01:59:54 PM »

This is the code for it in the channel strip.
It has a different command structure. Don't know how to write that one....

 #InChLeft {
    widget-type: CHANNEL-NAVIGATION-PUSHBUTTON;  /*Channel Left*/
    command: -1;
    geometry: 43, 40, 48, 24;
    name: left-channel-navigation-button;
    image-click: Blue-Channel-Tab/aux-prev-on.png;
    image-normal: Blue-Channel-Tab/aux-prev-off.png;
       }
 #InChRight {
    widget-type: CHANNEL-NAVIGATION-PUSHBUTTON;  /*Channel Right*/
    command: -1;
    geometry : 91, 40, 48, 24;
    name: right-channel-navigation-button;
    image-click: Blue-Channel-Tab/aux-next-on.png;
    image-normal: Blue-Channel-Tab/aux-next-off.png;
       }

The template is using a specific Command ID.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2015, 02:01:43 PM by brettbrandon »
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #38 on: August 05, 2015, 06:16:52 PM »

Working on the EQ.
Here's another example of a different widget specifically for the control and have no idea what values to use.

 #eqflat {
    widget-type: CLICK-BUTTON; /* Flat EQ */
    command: -1;
    geometry:  330, 45, 48, 24;
    name: equ-flatten;
    image-normal: Blue-Channel-Tab/flat-off.png;
    image-click: Blue-Channel-Tab/flat-on.png;
        }

The template seems to be looking for something like (command: 0x7d;)

Logged

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #39 on: August 05, 2015, 09:19:41 PM »

All of those functions are GUI commands, not host commands.  We will need to add sort of a "fake" command to map them properly.  I will add it to the list.
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #40 on: February 16, 2016, 03:02:09 PM »

All of those functions are GUI commands, not host commands.  We will need to add sort of a "fake" command to map them properly.  I will add it to the list.
Bob,
Has this had any work done on it?
Logged

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #41 on: February 16, 2016, 03:30:02 PM »

Hey Brett,

Ah, I had forgotten to add that to the bug list.  Just did!

Bob
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #42 on: November 13, 2017, 02:27:16 PM »

Hey Bob,
Has this been implemented and is there any data available for it?
Logged

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #43 on: November 14, 2017, 01:19:31 AM »

Hi Brett,

Just reading back thru the older messages.  Are you asking for a command such that a MIDI controller could reset the EQ to flat?  Exactly which commands do you need?

Bob
Logged

brettbrandon

  • Guest
Re: iPad Control
« Reply #44 on: November 14, 2017, 09:56:10 AM »

It has been so long since I worked on it, I don't recall all of it. Also, since then, I have sold that iPad and apparently did not save the layout. I also can't find the template I was using. I would have to start from scratch...

"Hey Brett,
That's great!  Can you switch active channels also, to go back and forth?  Not sure if we have those commands mapped, but I could request it if it is not there.
Bob
"

"This is the code for it in the channel strip.
It has a different command structure. Don't know how to write that one....

 #InChLeft {
    widget-type: CHANNEL-NAVIGATION-PUSHBUTTON;  /*Channel Left*/
    command: -1;
    geometry: 43, 40, 48, 24;
    name: left-channel-navigation-button;
    image-click: Blue-Channel-Tab/aux-prev-on.png;
    image-normal: Blue-Channel-Tab/aux-prev-off.png;
       }
 #InChRight {
    widget-type: CHANNEL-NAVIGATION-PUSHBUTTON;  /*Channel Right*/
    command: -1;
    geometry : 91, 40, 48, 24;
    name: right-channel-navigation-button;
    image-click: Blue-Channel-Tab/aux-next-on.png;
    image-normal: Blue-Channel-Tab/aux-next-off.png;
       }
The template is using a specific Command ID
"

")Working on the EQ.
Here's another example of a different widget specifically for the control and have no idea what values to use.

 #eqflat {
    widget-type: CLICK-BUTTON; /* Flat EQ */
    command: -1;
    geometry:  330, 45, 48, 24;
    name: equ-flatten;
    image-normal: Blue-Channel-Tab/flat-off.png;
    image-click: Blue-Channel-Tab/flat-on.png;
        }
The template seems to be looking for something like (command: 0x7d;)
"

"All of those functions are GUI commands, not host commands.  We will need to add sort of a "fake" command to map them properly.  I will add it to the list.".

Does that help?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4