Audio Mixing Platform (AMP)   Audio Mixing Platform (AMP)

Contact us info@audiomixingplatform.com

FORUMS

Author Topic: i.e. VST plugin support  (Read 718 times)

hclague

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
i.e. VST plugin support
« on: January 09, 2018, 12:29:37 AM »
Hi Bob

Was just thinking over the weekend as I was configuring my 2nd Midas based rig. Would it be possible to code a certain type of input and output channels in AMP that could present as ASIO inputs/Outputs to third party VST hosts ( Like Live Professor, Chainer, etc..). That would seem to me to be a way to avoid reinventing some of the wheel. Live Professor II is quite stable and works great for a Host with the Behringer/Midas mixers via USB. Obviously not sure if it can even be coded, Just trying to think out of the box a little

Hal

Richard B. Ingraham

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
    • AMP Stuff on RBI Sound Site
Re: i.e. VST plugin support
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2018, 12:58:10 AM »
I already sort of do this all in the digital domain just by setting up a second computer to run Live Professor.  And link them together via ADAT or AES, what have you.  If you set up is all Dante based it would be even easier.  Just drop one of the Danta cards into a computer to run Live Professor and all the links are made right on the Dante network.  One more Ethernet into your switch.

If you were using them for effects that were not sensitive to a bit of extra latency, i.e.  Reverb, Delays etc...  you could probably just get away with using Dante Virtual Sound Card for the Live Professor Computer.
Richard B. Ingraham

jeffsco

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: i.e. VST plugin support
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2018, 01:44:58 AM »
Hi Bob

Was just thinking over the weekend as I was configuring my 2nd Midas based rig. Would it be possible to code a certain type of input and output channels in AMP that could present as ASIO inputs/Outputs to third party VST hosts ( Like Live Professor, Chainer, etc..). That would seem to me to be a way to avoid reinventing some of the wheel. Live Professor II is quite stable and works great for a Host with the Behringer/Midas mixers via USB. Obviously not sure if it can even be coded, Just trying to think out of the box a little

Hal


Hal...I realize this is a bit of an aside....I assume your using either an M32 and or an X32 ...How do you set up Live Professor to integrate with the Board? Is it much the same as Waves Multirack? I'm considering going that direction with my X32 in order to utilize some of my plugins...

Richard B. Ingraham

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
    • View Profile
    • AMP Stuff on RBI Sound Site
Re: i.e. VST plugin support
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2018, 03:36:04 AM »
Sounds like he is just using the USB audio interface to get in and out of the computer.  Once you do that it's just like any effects processor.
Richard B. Ingraham

hclague

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: i.e. VST plugin support
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2018, 05:52:20 AM »
Richard is correct. I'm using the USB card in the Midas M32c and routing in and out via the Auxes.

For the AMP rig I purchased a Lynx Studios AES16e-50 card for the host PC and currently setup the routing in the M32c as described by Behringer on how to run separate Monitor mix and FOH using 2 M32 or x32 consoles. The AMP computer takes the place of the Second (FOH) M32/X32.

The routing to use the USB card in the "Monitor" x32 to provide VST effects to the AMP FOH is a bit kludged but I got it to work. The downside is that the USB card In/Out uses 8 AES50 channels thus limiting me to 24 channels of Mix input. Latency thru the card and Live Proffesor is 13ms so only usable for Reverbs, Delays, Chorus etc..

My idea in the original post was to somehow have a digital link between AMP and a VST Host program on the same computer that did not involve the AD/DA interface being used, thus working on all AMP systems regardless of IO protocol.

Hal

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 949
    • View Profile
Re: i.e. VST plugin support
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2018, 06:33:57 AM »
One of the things we are considering is developing an "AmpNet" protocol based on what we are doing for Host Audio that might present itself to another computer as an ASIO interface.  Could potentially be low latency. 

Bob

hclague

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: i.e. VST plugin support
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2018, 03:54:48 AM »
That's kind of what I was suggesting. Sounds really cool.

Hal